Installing Hackintosh on Dell Inspiron 530

Hardware: Dell Inspiron 530. Intel Core 2 Quad, 4G memory, Nvidia 8400GS 256MB,

Install Disk: I bought a retailed Snow Leopard 10.6.3, however, it won’t recognize my harddisk since I can not set SATA to ACHI mode in my BIOS. So I used iATKOS s3 v2.  The website for iATKOS is

1. You can download iATKOS from

iATKOS s3 is baseds on Snow Leopard 10.6.3.

2. Burn ISO into a blank DVD. First, I burned with windows. However, it won’t work. So I have to burn it in Ubuntu, which works great.

3. Install SL. Boot the disk. In the welcome screen, using Disk Utility to partition the disk into 3 Partitions with GUID scheme.  GUID will create aother parition by its own. So totally there will be 4 partitions. I installed SL on the second partition. Ubuntu on the third partition and the fourth partition for data. During customization, choose driver for Intel SATA/IDE, Nvidia EFI VGA/DVI. default audio. The installation takes about 20 mins. After successful installation, reboot.

After installation, the ethernet is not work. I download the driver from

Using Kext Utility to install. Reboot. The NIC works now.

4. Apply combo update to 10.6.7. The update package can be downloaded from the above link. The first time, I selected Sleep Enabler, which causes kernel panic after update to 10.6.7. So I have to re-do a clean installation and didn’t select Sleep Enabler. Then it upgrades to 10.6.7 without any problem.

5. Using software update. It automatic update all software like a real MacPro.











Post Installation

1. using synergy to control two computers with one set of mouse and keyboard.

Set synergy autostart

2. change hostname:

sudo scutil --set HostName your_own_host_name
This entry was posted in Computer. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Installing Hackintosh on Dell Inspiron 530

  1. Haitao says:


  2. Roger says:

    Other than selecting Intel SATA/IDE driver, did you select SATA AHCI driver in iATKOS S3 V2 during Installation?

  3. cliveyMac says:

    Thanks. I was a bit late to hackintosh but i have 10.6.8 running perfect on Dell inspiron 530 e8500 nvidia 8800gt, m.audiophile 2468 sound, firewire and usb2 externals , 1:1 midi interface, wifi internet.
    I needed an App store fix after I upgraded to 10.6.8 and i achieved it by downloading the NIC fix that you mentioned after I had that working I was able to set pciroot to 0 and that enabled me to connect to the Apple App Store and log on through public wifi as i have no internet of my own.
    If I upgrade to lion I`ll remember this but I think this machine is at the end of it`s upgrade path now

Leave a Reply

